Mahanama College Media Unit

Mahanama College Media Unit is one of the leading and pioneering school media units in Sri Lanka. The Media Unit of Mahanama College was started in 1987 and, this is one of Sri Lanka’s oldest school media unit which has more than 35 years of history and experience.
November 02nd 1987, Monday is a usual school day, and at this time, the young Mahanama College has started finding new things. From that Mahanama College identified that the school media field is a very important thing as a school. Therefore, on November 02nd 1987, Monday, Mahanama College Colombo 03 has decided to enter the school media field as a very young school in Sri Lanka challenging the school media pioneers in that period with the intention of creating a great media art. In a short time, the media unit of Mahanama College has handed over lots of media giants to the nation.
Nowadays, The Media Unit of Mahanama College has recognized as the most active society in Mahanama College being a must needed society for every single event in Mahanama College. We are now fulfilled with, bilingual announcing, photography, videography, photo editing, video editing, graphic designing, audio recording, sound management, broadcasting and web development team.



Founded year: 1987
Founded by: Mr. A.K.D. Dimal Dasanga Arandara


First school radio to transmit through short wave amateur radio technology.
First school television to transmit a live big match one day encounter on Facebook Live
Sri Lanka’s first school media website to awarded in Sri Lanka’s only web
designing competition in the year 2020.

Special Notice

None at the moment.


Happening Now

None at the moment.


None at the moment.


Mr. A.M.A.A.C.Perera
Principal - Mahanama College Colombo 03
Mrs. H.U Hemanthi
Teacher in Charge
Sahiru Dulneth
Gayindu Kottagoda
Dilan Amarasinghe
Damindu Siriwardhana
Vice Presdent
Thewindu Renuja
Vice Secratary
Yugath Galappaththi
Vice Treasurer
Nisila Perera
Chief Technical Officer
Tharukshaya Senanayaka
Chief Coordinator
Sathmina Warnajith
Media Coordinators
Nisula Hettiarachchi
Media Coordinators
Prashan Matheesha
Media Coordinators
Ruvin Silva
Media Coordinators
Pabasara Warnajith
Technical Officer
Nethaka De Seram
Technical Officer
Ridma Nayanajith
Technical Officer
Senura Sadeepa
Technical Officer
Chanidu Levhan
Chenura Pathirana
Kalana Dissanayaka
Abhinu Samarasinghe
Sethika Rathnayaka
Anuja Imantha
Heshana Chathusahan
Muthula Thewan
Senuja Bometh
Akindu Kithnuka

Social Media

error: Content is protected !!